Make your own free website on

Track List:
  1. The World of the Heart - Main Title 3:17
  2. To The Stars 3:11
  3. Wonders Of An Ancient Glory 2:21
  4. Einon 3:53
  5. The Last Dragon Slayer 4:00
  6. Bowen's Ride 2:33
  7. Mexican Standoff 2:20
  8. Draco 1:13
  9. A Refreshing Swim 1:25
  10. Re-Baptism 2:47
  11. Bowen's Decoy 3:22
  12. Kyle, The Wheat Boy 4:24
  13. The Connection 2:25
  14. Flight to Avalon 2:54
  15. Finale 5:28

Total Time: (45:53)

Composed by:
Randy Edelman

Conducted by:
Randy Edelman

Orchestrated by:
Ralph Ferraro

As far as I'm concerned, this soundtrack could never by hyped enough. It's a rich fantasy/adventure score full of bright, courageous, and boundless wonder. Second in its genre only to the mighty Willow. This is in the same vein as those like Krull, but as much as I like that one, I have to be willing to admit that this comletely pounds it into the ground. The initial moments of the first track lead you to believe that something wonderful is coming, and then the main theme is presented. Oh, my God, the main theme!!!!! It's one of those themes that sounds as if it should have been written centuries ago, even rivaling Beethoven's "Ode to Joy" theme from his ninth symphony in memorability. If it's not the greatest film theme of all time, it is certainly in the top five, and I'll accept no arguments to the contrary. Many film trailers have used the theme since its release in 1996. The theme sounds great in the main title, but it can't compare to the choir assisted, drool-inducing arrangement heard in "To The Stars," my single favorite film music cue of the 1990s! What starts out with lonely strings soon introduces the humming choir atop the main theme, which in turn lets the violins play a bridge which leads to a full playing of the main theme by the whole ensemble, ending on a big chord and a percussion roll.

Now that I've done enough raving about the main theme, I'm obliged to inform all that read this review that the greatness contained within this CD certainly doesn't stop there. New and memorable themes rear their heads in almost every track. Although all sound medievil, all but a couple of the themes are very light-hearted. The more noteworthy tracks are the one that include character themes, such as Knight Bowen's theme in "The Last Dragon Slayer" and the villain Einon's theme (BTW, I've never encountered a movie villain that I've despised more). I enjoy little silly segments such as the beginning of "Mexican Standoff" when Draco and Bowen meet in battle. Another little enjoyable segment is when Draco pretends to be injured by a spear and falls into a lake to fool villagers into believing that he has drowned. While hearing this score, the listener can't help but wonder if the great themes are ever going to stop coming. It's not until the last track that new melodies stop being presented.

Randy Edelman's use of synth with orchestra is probably the best I've heard from any composer. When the electronic sounds show up, they do not hinder the orchestral sound at all, but do wonders to enhance it, unlike James Horner's use of synthesizers in Titanic. The synth is noticeable in several places, greatly adding to the orchestral passages.

I've read several reviews for both the film and score for DragonHeart by people who absolutely hated the movie. I almost feel like I'm the only person in the world who appreciates it. Anyway, as always, the best way to experience this score is in the context of the film, however, there are many thematic segments drowned out that must be experienced on the CD. I don't just recommend this soundtrack, I order you to get it right now. If you don't, you'll be missing out on one of the greatest musical experiences that life has to offer.

Dragonheart is Copyright 1996 MCA Records. This review is written by and is the property of Isaac Engelhorn and does not reflect the opinions of Tripod.