Make your own free website on
Blair Witch 2: Book of Shadows

Track List:
  1. Rock Water Wind 7:06
  2. Funny Farm 1:46
  3. Stream Dream :56
  4. Red Snow 4:22
  5. Wrong 1:00
  6. Still in the Hills 1:07
  7. Marked 2:57
  8. Barely 2:43
  9. Beasts 2:15
  10. Rain 1:35
  11. Hanging 3:28
  12. Shadow Dance 2:58
  13. The Truth?

Total Time: (40:35)

"Composed" by:
Carter Burwell
After reading several negative reviews for the sequel to the popular BW and its score, I picked up a copy of this thinking that it would be similar to Silent Hill, and indeed, it is *similar*. Unfortunately Mr. Burwell simply doesn't have what it takes to make these sound effects truly disturbing or scary. Then again, it may just be how laughably *not* scary the pathetic waste of film was that the music was meant to accompany.

The score does have some interesting, though completely unlistenable sections of nothing but tapping sound effects and no breaks here and there of decent "normal" music at all. While the Silent Hill score, which this is undeniably modeled after, contained several sections of quiet music performed on accoustic guitar or even a small rock ensemble, Burwell's score is strictly the much more ambient sort.

Of course, if this had been a scary movie Burwell may have been more inspired to write more than simple sound effects that, no matter how hard they seem to try, are simply not scary at all. They're just boring really.

Some fans of Silent Hill might find this interesting, but everyone else needs to stay as far from this album as possible. I don't like the music at all, but since Burwell had the guts to try this sort of thing I'll give it just one point higher than my lowest possible rating. This is probably the most pathetic CD in my entire score collection.

The disc is too damn long too.

Blair Witch 2: Book of Shadows is Copyright 2000 Flashcut/Milan records. This review is written by and is the property of Isaac Engelhorn and does not reflect the opinions of Tripod.